Changi Airport Skytrain

by | Aug 18, 2022

Changi Airport Skytrain

Changi Airport Skytrain view

Learn more about the Changi Airport Skytrain

The Changi Airport Skytrain is an automated people mover (APM) system that connects Terminals 1, 2, and 3 at Singapore Changi Airport. The 6.4-kilometer network, which provides inter-terminal transfers for public and airside areas, is a crucial component of Airport operations. The system now has seven stations spread among the three terminals. The system runs daily from 5:00 am to 2:30 am at intervals of between 1 and 4 minutes. 

Services for replacement buses get run throughout maintenance windows. The North sector is home to stations B, C, D, and E, which provide service to both airside and public areas. Only airside regions get served by the South segment’s stations A, A South, and F. The air-conditioned terminal area is isolated from the outside world at every station in the Changi Airport Skytrain network thanks to platform screen doors, improving commuter security and comfort.

Rolling Stock

The Punggol LRT and Sengkang LRT systems utilize comparable technology to the Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Crystal Mover rolling stock that powers the Changi Airport Skytrain. These vehicles, automated people movers, are rubber-tired to reduce operation noise in populated places and propelled by two side rails and a power rail on either side. They run in single- and double-car configurations, with triple-car operations starting in 2019. Large doors and spacious interiors on trains make it easy to load and unload luggage.


The Skytrain system consists of two separate systems: a PMS/North that runs between Terminals 1, 2, and 3 on both the landside and the airside, and an airside-only PMS/South that runs between Terminals 2 and 3 and between the main structure of Terminal 3 and South Pier. A bypass shuttle to transfer passengers between Terminals 2 and 3; for the rest of the system, single-lane shuttles are employed, with distinct lanes for the airport’s airside and landside. Seven stations make up the system (A-South, A, B, C, D, E, and F), each of which provides the name of the closest boarding gate for convenience for passengers.

Redevelopment works:

Due to Jewel Changi Airport construction in 2015, a section of the Changi Airport Skytrain system connected with Stations B and E get suspended. Both the Skytrain running between Stations A and F in the airside and the mezzanine level bridge along the Changi Airport MRT station is used by passengers in the public area. Only in July 2019 did landside operations for services between stations A and F start up again.

Skytrain Improvements:

Six more train carriages were added to the Changi Airport Skytrain network in April 2019, along with relevant station improvements and additions to the signaling and communication systems. While the one-car shuttle between Station A and Station A South (Terminal 3 and Gates A15 – A21) gets improved to a two-car system, the previous two-car shuttle between Station B and E (Terminals 2 and 3) gets upgraded to a three-car system.

You may also like

One Stop Solution For All Your Property Needs

[fluentform type=”conversational” id=”6″]