East West Line

by | Aug 18, 2022

East West Line

East West Line Station

East West Line, Everything You Need To Know

The SMRT-operated East-West Line (EWL) is a high-capacity Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) line that connects Pasir Ris station east with Tuas Link station in the west. East West Line also has a branch between Changi Airport and Tanah Merah stations. It is Singapore’s second line of Mass Rapid Transit to be constructed. This distinction will go to the Cross Island line after it is fully operational in the 2040s. It has 35 stations, 8 of which are underground. It is the longest MRT line at 57.2 kilometres (35.5 miles). The rail map has the line highlighted in green.


On December 12, 1987, the North-South line’s City Hall to Outram Park stations, the first section of the future East-West line, officially opened. On March 12, 1988, to Clementi station in the west. Commonwealth Avenue West had to reroute to make room for the viaduct while the expansion to Clementi station built. On November 5, 1988, the line  later extended to Lakeside. On November 4, 1989, the 15.3-kilometre (9.3-mile) eastern extension to Tanah Merah station inaugurated. First Deputy Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong was present at the event in East West Line

East West Line train  


The East-West Line (EWL) connects the eastern and western ends of the island via Central Singapore. It is a high-capacity MRT line and the second MRT line to open in Singapore. SMRT Trains is currently in charge of running it. The EWL, which connects Pasir Ris (EW1) to Tuas Link, is now the longest MRT line, measuring 56.6 kilometres in length and has 35 stations (EW33). Tanah Merah (EW4 | CG) and Changi Airport (CG2) connected by a different branch line known as the Changi Airport Branch Line through Expo (CG1/DT35). The line goes underground within the Central Area (between Kallang and Redhill) and close to the Airport, running on elevated viaducts of its length (between Expo to Changi Airport). Trains also travel briefly underground.


The East-West Line travels from Pasir Ris in the easternmost point of Singapore through the city’s centre and the Jurong Industrial Estate in the west, passing via Tampines, Bedok, Kallang, Redhill, Queenstown, Clementi, Jurong East, and Boon Lay on the way. Then its path is along established highways, particularly between Tanah Merah-City Hall and Queenstown-Boon Lay. Avoid building tracks at ground level line travels underground through the Central Area (between Kallang and Redhill) and close to Changi Airport while remaining elevated for most of its length. Between Kembangan and a second, the smaller tunnel passes through Siglap Hill.

East West Line

Improvement works

The East-West Line is undergoing engineering upgrades to enhance service. Concrete sleepers installed on overground portions of the track where timber sleepers are nearing the end of their useful life. Construction scheduled to finish in early 2017. Trains have powered by the third rail since 1987, but it has gradually replaced. Last but not least, $195 million in re-signalling work will update the EWL to a Thales Communications-Based Train Control (CBTC) system intended to cut the minimum time between trains from 120 seconds to 100 seconds. From June 18 to November 2017, when the Joo Koon train crash incident took place segment of the new signalling system from Pioneer to Tuas Link station was in service.

You may also like

One Stop Solution For All Your Property Needs

[fluentform type=”conversational” id=”6″]